GOVERNMENT OF KARNATAKA

No: FD(Spl) 209 PEN 2012

Karnataka Government Secretariat, M.S.Building, Bangalore, dated:21.02.2015.

<u>CIRCULAR</u>

Sub: Applicability of New Pension Scheme to the employees of State Autonomous Bodies/Boards/Corporations/Societies/ Universities/State Aided Institutions under various departments of State Government.

Ref:1) G.O.No.FD (Spl) 04 PET 2005 Bangalore, dt:31.03.2006.

- 2) G.O.No.FD (Spl) 28 PEN 2009 Bangalore, dt:29.03.2010.
- 3) G.O.No.FD (Spl) 01 PEN 2010 Bangalore, dt:20.10.2010.

The Government of Karnataka by its orders referred above has introduced 'New Defined Contributory Pension Scheme' called New Pension System (NPS) for all its employees joining State Government Service on or after 01.04.2006 and All India Service Officers who have joined Central Government Services on or after 01.01.2004. The New Pension Scheme is mandatory to all new recruits of the State Government Service joining on or after 01.04.2006 under the contributory pension scheme. The new recruits are required to contribute 10% of their basic pay and dearness allowance thereon every month and the same will be matched by the State Government in equal proportion. The Government of Karnataka has adopted the New Pension Scheme architecture as prescribed by Pension Fund Regulatory and Development Authority (PFRDA).

2. State Autonomous Bodies/Boards/Corporations/Societies/Universities/State Aided Institutions under various departments of State Government who have adopted old pension scheme i.e. Defined Pension Scheme for its employees appointed before 01.04.2006, shall discontinue the old pension scheme and shall mandatorily adopt the New Pension Scheme to its employees appointed on or after 01.04.2006 and the employer's contribution towards this scheme shall be paid from their own resources.

3. State Autonomous Bodies/Boards/Corporations/Societies/Universities/State Aided Institutions under various departments of State Government which had no pension scheme earlier would be at liberty to opt for New Pension Scheme or otherwise. If they opt for New Pension Scheme employer's contribution shall be paid from their own resources only.

4. In either case, employer's contribution needs to be paid by the organization from its own resources. No request to provide additional grant/amount on this account will be entertained by Finance Department.

5. The applicability of New Pension Scheme to new entrants will be determined solely with reference to the date of their joining. Also this scheme will not be applicable to the employees appointed on daily wages, work charge establishment or contract basis.

6. This Circular shall supersede any other opinion/decision given by Finance Department regarding New Pension Scheme in any decided case.

V A

(PADMAVATHI) Special Officer and Ex-officio Joint Secretary to Government, Finance Department (Pension)

То

- 1. The Principal Accountant General (Audit-1)/ The Accountant General (A&E) Bengaluru.
- 2. The Chief Secretary to Government, Vidhana Soudha, Bengaluru.
- 3. The Additional Chief Secretary to Government, Vidhana Soudha, Bengaluru.
- 4. The Development Commissioner, Vidhana Soudha, Bengaluru.
- 5. All Principal Secretaries/ Secretaries to Government.
- 6. Principal Secretary, State Legislature, Bengaluru.
- 7. Secretary, Fiscal Reforms, Finance Department, M.S. Building, Bengaluru.
- 8. Secretary, Karnataka Public Service Commission, Bengaluru.
- 9. Secretary, Kannada Development Authority, Vidhana Soudha, Bengaluru.
- 10. Secretary, e-Governance, HRMS, M.S. Building Dr.Ambedkar veedi, Bengaluru-560001.
- 11. Controller, State Accounts Department, T.T.M.C Building, 3rd Floor, B.M.T.C Shanthinagara, Bengaluru-560 027.
- 12. Registrar, Karnataka Lokayukta, Bengaluru.
- 13. Registrar, High Court of Karnataka, Bengaluru.
- 14. Registrar, Karnataka Administrative Tribunal, Bengaluru.
- 15. Director, Planning Department, Urban & Rural, M.S. Building, Bengaluru.
- 16. All Heads of Departments & DDOs.
- 17. All Deputy Commissioners of Districts.
- 18. All Chief Executive Officers of Zilla Panchayats.
- 19. All Boards/Corporations/Societies/Universities/State Aided Institutions/State Autonomous Bodies through Administrative departments.
- 20. Director of Treasuries, Bengaluru & District Treasury Officers & Sub-Treasury Officers.
- 21. Pension Fund Regulatory and Development Authority, 1st Floor, ICADR Building, Plot No.6, Vasant Kunj, Institutional Area, Phase-II, New Delhi-110070.
- 22. National Securities Depository Limited, Central Recordkeeping Agency (New Pension System), 4th Floor, 'A' Wing, Trade World, Kamala Mills compound, Senapati Bapat Marg, Lower Parel, Mumbai-400 013.
- 23. Weekly Gazette.
- 24. Section Guard File.